LOVE MARRIAGE or ARRANGED MARRIAGE

Marriage is an important social institution. There is a continuous debate whether arranged or love marriage is better. Personally, I find the latter way of thinking more convincing. In today’s generation, arranged marriage does not hold much attraction for the young; however, it is obvious that 90% of Indians still maintain this type of wedding. This is not just the union of two people, but a coming together of two social networks, which are now closely linked than ever before. First and foremost, security and stability seem to be the most valued things looked for in arranged marriage, while looking for a partner for their son or daughter, parents will first check if the potential bride or groom’s family is compatible with theirs. Whether they share the same background, socio-economic status, level of education, or not. Another concern to consider is the fact that sometimes the daughters or the sons feel a strong sense of obligation and duty to their parents. They are compelled to accept their parents’ choice of their spouses, to do otherwise is perceived to be disrespectful and a betrayal to the whole family. Love marriage seems impeccable on the surface. Get married to a soulmate, and live a happy life after. As F. Scott Peck says: ‘Love is not effortless. On the contrary, it is effortful’; therefore, like arranged one, a love marriage requires such achievement to sustain a happy life. In the first place, the romantic feelings in the first few months will stay the same for the rest of the time they live together. When the honeymoon stage is over and the mundane realities of marriage have set in, people begin to feel dissatisfied wondering if their partner still loves them. More importantly, people have no clue to blame for their parents or anyone else if their marriage does not work out perfectly, which means they have no choice but to take full responsibility for their decision. In contrast, one might enter an arranged marriage with much lower expectations and not expect everything to work out immediately. In the light of the aforementioned analysis, both arranged and love marriages have their own strengths and faults. From my viewpoint, there is no perfect formula to make a marriage work, it's up to each person’s wish and opinion.