Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives. In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

With improvements in medicine, it is now a very real possibility that senior citizens can live longer and enjoy an active lifestyle. In my opinion, society can benefit a lot from senior citizens living longer lives and fulfilling lives since the experience and wisdom that a senior citizen can offer is invaluable to the development of civilization. Primarily, one of the most important benefits a pensioner can bring is the wealth of experience in almost every field, especially in administration and education as older people were made to undergo tougher school syllabi and tougher times. For example, veteran administrators from world war times and elder professionals offer a dearth of knowledge and experience to guide the younger generations through lean periods in life. Elder citizens can guide children and inculcate them with good values and etiquette. Also, elder statesmen in identifying and molding future leaders for the benefit of society. Senior citizens can guide and make the younger generations understand the importance of family values. Also, forging intergenerational relationships between the seniors and youngsters will benefit both of them and help the young learn vital skills applicable in their lives. For instance, work ethic, mental strength, soft skills, and technical knowledge can be gleaned from retirees by the current crop. In addition to this, senior citizens are more willing to contribute to tax revenue compared to the other generations and these senior citizens can have a positive influence on young adults to become responsible citizens. To conclude, veterans above the age of 65 can contribute positively to the benefit of society. The dearth of experience and wisdom they possess can be passed on to the oncoming generations, playing a vital role in the holistic development of both civilization and the population.