Loneliness is an increasing problem in many countries especially among the elderly. why is this? offer solutions to this?

It has been universally acknowledged that the problem of loneliness among aged- people are escalating at an alarming rate in the current scenario. This problem has been of a depressing magnitude. Although, a plethora of reasons are there yet some sensible solutions are also available to curb this grove concern. To begin with, the feelings of getting alone can be of several reasons. The main cause is that the separation from their children. More specifically, children of the oldest couples may be out of the country in search of a job or education and their primary focus of career advancement tend to make their parents alone. In addition, the early retirement age can be another reason. As soon as aged people retiring from their job, that much depression can affect them as they are losing their friend's circle in the office and certain responsibilities they need to finish in the working-hours are sacrificed in the name of retirement. In South India, the average retiring age for government employees is considering as 54 while in the UK it is nearly 70. To solve this serious issue, some measures can be taken. Firstly, the young adults who are leaving their parents for building their careers should appoint a home nurse or a servant from a certified organisation. This can make the elderly feel that they are not alone, there are people to look after them. Secondly, the government can increase the retirement age of people and it will exhibit a sense of engagement on the senior citizens. What is more, the government and the society can also conduct motivation programs for them where they can give small activities or tasks to these people. For instance, the Japanese government are conducting programs namely get together twice a month. To conclude, unquestionably, this problem has become a burning question of the day. Therefore, it is not an easy task to solve this. The government and the people should come forward to mitigate this complex issue.