Locking in prison for long time helps to reduce crime.

Locking up people in prisons with long sentences has always been favored by many judges. Some Individuals believe that penitentiary is the best method to reduce criminal activities while others argue that other methods can be enforced to control the crime. This essay will argue that long-time imprisonment is the best method to prevent soaring crimes. Nowadays, the crime rate has soared to large numbers and there is a lot of maleficent people who commit these crimes out of heat or money and are arrested and subjected to serve long sentences or sometimes given death punishment. These kinds of punishments will help not only to control the crime rate but also instills the fear of committing crimes in a lot of individuals. For Instance, Countries like Saudi Arabia have implemented laws such as death sentence for Theft and arson and lifetime prison for domestic violence. These kinds of judgments did not only help to develop peace and harmony in the society but also made people think twice before committing any mistake. However, there is a downside in sentencing a person for a long time. Many People believe strict law- enforcement helps to reduce crime but it had no impact on reducing crime numbers. For some countries with huge crime rates, such kinds of verdicts caused many issues. For people locked up in the prison, there is a huge amount of costs involved in maintaining such as Food, Building maintenance, and salaries for Prison personnel. For example, South Korea closed many prisons and transferred criminals to different prisons because of increasing expenditures to These costs may soar high if there is a soar in the number of long-term prisoners and becomes detrimental to the country's economy. In Conclusion, it can be stated that it is illogical to believe that long-term imprisonment encourages people not to commit a crime, and also in my opinion there is no other alternative except improving better laws to punish criminals.