Lockdown Promotes Obesity Among People Both Young and Adults.

Nowadays, people are reluctant to engage in physical activities which are essential for our well-being especially in maintaining an ideal weight. People in the Global North are living an unhealthy lifestyle even before the onset of coronavirus. What makes the situation worse is that the recent new normal standard by COVID-19 promoted it rapidly and constantly. A plethora of phenomena triggered this unhealthy way of life. To single out the reason, that is a pandemic of COVID-19 as I wrote above. This virus which threatens humanity totally changed our lives. Most of the companies implemented a work from home system to safeguard the lives of the employees and limit their movement to and from different places. At first, the workers perceive this is as convenient rather than detrimental to their physical and mental well being. However, as time goes by workers realized that their daily activities related to commute are basic exercise that they could no longer do. As a matter of fact, a number of my friends put on weight while they were quarantined during lockdown. Under such desperate circumstances, people all over the world could continue making a living and getting used to being digital nomads. In addition, students could study at the comfort of their homes and continue their education by online classes. Indeed, internet is one of the greatest technology invented of all times. Whilst technology made our lives convenient, it is important to stress its drawbacks. Undeniably, a digital nomad is a sedentary occupation. Being confined in a limited four-corner room leads to unhealthy lifestyle. Our innate desire to survive put paid to the wanderlusts within us because the need to be outdoors and to travel has been eliminated, we opted to watch movies or play video games with family and friends. In short, the latest innovation entertained us at home to pass the time. The world had not stopped revolving when the pandemic took over the world. People can still incorporate low intensity workouts they can perform at home. Indeed, revitalizing survival and keeping in shape keeps us in two minds but as they say there is a way if there is a will. We should stop making excuses for ourselves.