Local history and world history

Many people hold the opinion that students these days should be exposed to domestic history rather than global history. I partially concur with this notion, and this essay is aimed at providing compelling justification for my position. On the one hand, there are a number of different explanations to be taken into account as to why studying history of their hometown should be given precedence. For one thing, national history makes a huge contribution to cultivate student’s sense of patriotism. By and large, on the grounds that when students have a deeper understanding about their origin and how ancestors defended their homeland against invaders, they would make an effort to become a good citizen as a way to deserve their ancestor’s sacrifice. Added to this is the fact that learning national history is the responsibility of each individual student for their own country. Since, the young generation are considered as the core of the country's development, they are in charge of maintaining traditional values and identity by being knowledgeable about national background. On the other hand, obtaining knowledge about world history necessarily shares equal significance for several reasons. To begin with, granted that today’s concept of globalization is becoming increasingly popular, young people essentially have comprehensive knowledge, giving them more opportunities to be exposed to the outside world. Another important rationale behind this is that obtaining knowledge on a world scale is beneficial for education and career. Given the fact that working in an international environment is becoming a go-to choice of many people due to higher salary. In conclusion, I take the position that while to some extent regional history should be included in the school’s curriculum, it is essential for students to know about international history for the reasons mentioned above.