education and prisionment

The increasing number of wrongdoers has placed a burden on nations, generating a range of questions on how to tackle this issue. While it is believed by some that rehabilitation programs and job training are at the core of the solution, I would contend that the way offenders should be dealt with depends on their age and the gravity of actions leading to criminality. To begin with, lenient punishment such as education and training can serve as a suitable remedy to juvenile delinquents or lawbreakers with misdemeanors such as burglars or robbers. By and large, on the grounds that misdemeanors happen owing largely to a lack of general knowledge, rehabilitation will help criminals to acknowledge their mistake and rectify it. Added to this is the fact that proper teaching methodologies also provide employability for reformed criminals after being released back into society. Since without a crime record, wrongdoers have more chances to earn a living, giving rise to the lower possibility of future re-offending. Nevertheless, this solution may be impossible to work on the convicts having committed inhumane and unforgivable felonies, so incarceration is the must-have deterrent to their actions. To begin with, granted that educating and training are not enough for drug traffickers, murderers or rapists, they still must be permanently isolated from the community to guarantee the well- being of society, especially innocent people’s lives. Another important rationale behind this is the fact that it is extremely demanding to help criminals who are morally bad by nature become well-educated citizens, therefore, it is no use trying to educate and train this group. Confining dangerous criminals in prison is the best deterrent to their wrongdoings To sum up, with a view to creating a civilized society, depending upon the age and the distinct type of offence, the most appreciated method should be performed in order to minimize criminal rate and guarantee the well-being of the community.