Discuss the view that advertising promotes excessive consumerism

People have different views about the impacts of advertising in daily consumption. While it encourages public spending, there are many negative aspects that should be seriously considered. On the one hand, advertising plays a significant role in modern business. Firstly, it helps companies broadcast widely the information of their products to consumers. Having these useful information such as features, shapes or prices, consumer would be able to compare and choose appropriate products that meet their demands. For example, with a number of advertisements appearing frequently on TV and over the internet, a customer could be easy to purchase an excellent laptop or smart phone at a reasonable price instead of spending an amount of time with customer service ‘s advice. In addition, advertising is also a creative industry that employs a variety of people. Therefore, it helps to reduce the unemployment rate in society and contribute to the development of economy. On the other hand, the abuse of advertising could create an excess of expenditure. By using the images of celebrities with amazing scenes in advertisements, enterprises are capable of attracting consumers effectively. This kind of marketing would manipulate people into purchasing an amount of goods that are quite unnecessary. Furthermore, there is a noticeable rise in the number of advertisements that aims at children. For instance, some fast food companies launch marketing campaigns in which they attach a tiny toy such as a model of superman or a doll to their products. Children who are really interested in these gifts would ask their parents to buy this kind of fast food for them in order to collect these toy and have to eat unhealthy food. In conclusion, it is clear that advertising is essential to promote consumerism, but it should be controlled strictly to prevent negative effects.