It is commonly believed that nowadays main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role. Discuss both views and give your opinion

ANSWER The majority of people believe that child’s behaviour is affected by media, pop-culture and friends. Others think that family plays an important role. I believe that while social media is becoming increasingly used and changing young people’s mind, family upbringing is the most fundamental factor. Firstly, in the contemporary world, technology is widely used by the youth. The emerging of social media such as Facebook, Instagram and twitter has negatively affected children’s behaviour. These sites has alot of fake news and immoral acts. For example, a child can be coaxed to join a group which deals with drugs or money laundering in order to earn easy money. In addition, children spend most of their time with friends from different backgrounds at school. They eventually begin copying some of their cultures which are unacceptable by their community. For instance, a western child living among Africans will practically start imitating African culture. On the other hand, family is the root to children’s moral behaviour. If the family has bad habits like smoking and drinking alcohol, they assume it as normal, likewise if they are prayerful and respectable, they get used and grow with it. Study has revealed that child’s upbringing is the main factor to his moral act. Most of the families who practise bad habits their kids end up the same. However, a well behaved prayerful, respectable family is more likely to bring about behaved children to the community. To conclude, most people belive that the youth’s interference with media, friends and pop culture is ruining their behavior. Others think that family is the key to child’s moral conduct. I believe that while social media, peer pressure is contributing to bad character. Family should set up strict rules to be followed by their young ones and they should monitor them on their social media activities.