Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To What extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the advancement of globalization, many people travel around the world and some live in foreign country, are confronting severe barriers both in social and in practice. In my opinion, I truly agree with this statement, and will address the reasons with examples in the following paragraph. In social problem, it is no doubt that language is the most common barrier that many of the immigrants face in a foreign country through the breakdown in understanding between people with diverse cultures and notions. As I give you a good example, in a small town of Myanmar called PangSang, the place where most Chinese people from China migrate for investment in business, have been facing language barriers with native people from this town such as different ascent, intonation and the term even though the language (Chinese) is the same. Consequently, it takes some times for them to fully understand and to communicate smoothly. In practical problem, not knowing the local language makes it harder for immigrants to find a direction, order foods from a menu, talk to a local citizen for help, read important notices, and most importantly manage a job. Moreover, it is quite natural that employers would prefer someone who can communicate with people of the country. According to many immigrants, language barrier is the leading cause they remain unemployed. Therefore, lack of knowing language, causes many practical problems which are unavoidable. To conclude, before migrating to a country, with best effort, people should learn the language most people in this country talk and understand to avoid social unrest and practical problems.