Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problem, as well as practical problems. with statement?

One of the biggest social and practical problems people living abroad faces is the language barrier. In my opinion, this can lead to very serious problems in many countries but technology has made some of the practical issues easier than in the last decade. The main reason people face difficulty is because of the serious issues with social isolation. If a person is unable to interact with other local people then they feel self-isolated. This is because every relationship requires two-way communication and this is very difficult if one of them does not have good command over their language. This can make the people feel disconnected from the community in some instances, this may even lead to depression and other mental illnesses that can be destructive for their lives and society. There are comparatively fewer practical problems caused by not knowing the language of the country where you live because of the development of technology, smartphones in particular. Computers have made it much easier to look up directions, find important information, and get quick translations. If someone doesn’t know the language of the country where they live, they can still find restaurants to their liking on Facebook and get directions through Google Maps. If they need to communicate with someone who does not speak their language they can simply take out their phone and use Google translater to slowly, but effectively, convey a message. The problems that not knowing the language of the country where you live causes are therefore minimal and easily overcome. In conclusion, I only partly agree with the statement in question. Not knowing a language when living abroad can cause social problems but technology is making things easier. In the future, I think it will become even less important to know the language of the country where you live in.