Life-long learning is necessary for one to stay employable in 21st Century.

In 21st Century, with all the technological advancements and automations in work industries, the unemployment rate is rising in almost every country. Therefore, a lot of people have tried to theorise how to stay fit for jobs as time passes. One of the things they found is that every employer looks for the mindset of life-long learning in candidates during job interviews. A life-long learner can be defined as a person who continues to acquire new skills and persue his or her passion even after formal education. Life-long learning can be even regarded as a necessity in every job. It is true that candidates can get hired easily if they meet the requirements of the jobs, that is, if they have the soft skills and hard skills listed in job specifications. However, when their country’s economy happens to face a recession, those who are only capable of taking one role are the ones who get fired earlier than those multiskilled in companies. Hence, everyone should cultivate the continuous learning habit to have job security. Life-long education is, in fact, not only good for job security but also effective to hone our skills and sharpen our minds. Increasing our mental sharpness will help us to generate new ideas and be the innovative ones in our work team. Unfortunately, a lot of employees have to repeat the same tedious tasks every day. This leads to slowly losing their skills that are not frequently used in their workplaces which also means that they would have trouble in getting a new job if they lost their current jobs. To recapitulate, both youngsters and adults should understand and believe that education is a lifelong process that takes place not just in school classrooms. In this competitive world, stronger people might have greater chance to survive. And in the same way, people who nourish their brains by learning new skills continuously are more likely to gain success in their careers.