Life has become much more stressful compares to our parent's generation

Mental illnesses related to stress are growing around the globe as a consenquence to a much more stressful life compared to our parent’s generation. The purpose of this essay is to discuss what lead to the widespread of stress in today’s world and possible measures to overcome the problems generated by it stress. The modern world we are living relies too much on material values. In the past, people work to earn a living and feed their family. My mother used to tell me that in her youth people only to wished for a full belly and warm clothes to put on. As the time goes on, most of us earn more than enough for food and clothing, so people set a new goal: is to earn as much money as possible and have a life more prosperous than others. This lead to a common sense that everyone must work not as hard as they can, but harder than they can, in order to earn wealth and social status. A lot of people became too committed that they do not have time to rest and take care of themselve, so their mental health started to decline. Beside of having no time for themself, people of today’s society could also be too busy with ourselves that they tend to forget people around them. We have developed an ignorant attitude towards other individuals, putting materials above relationships. This is bad for introverted people, as they could end up quarantining themselves from society and develop depressions. Take Japan as an example, it’s because of ignorance that many of those in needs was not helped and ended up committed suicide. A research by the National Suicidal hotline provides that 60% of people who called had a feeling of loneliness and being left out. There are many that we could do in order to prevent stress from spreading. Companies should organize its schedule to cut down on working time and set a time limit on how many extra hours can one works in a week as to stop people from working to exhaustion. The government should provide helplines and institutions to reach out to those suffering from stress. They can hold talkshows to raise awareness about mental health and how to have a healthy mind. That way, stress should be a less stressful problem that we have to encounter in modern society. In conclusion, out generation has given away too much of our mental health and moral values to earn more money for ourselves. The governments and companies could do many to help ease the problem as a stressed worker bring more harms than goods to the benefit of our society.