In Many Countries, Paying For Things Using Mobile Apps Is Becoming Increasingly Common

With the advent of mobile payment technologies, many people are choosing to pay for their purchase using smartphones rather than physical cards or cash. In my opinion, while this approach has some downsides, its benefits outweigh them. To start with the negatives, a significant drawback is that digital payment apps are not widely accepted. In other words, certain retailers do not support them, and even those big chain stores that do support mobile payments only accept trusted digital wallets, such as Apple Pay. Consequently, people still have to rely on other traditional payment methods. Another problem is that these apps tend to increase impulse buying. As people can easily pay for things, they can suddenly decide to buy those things they did not initially plan for and as such they will spend recklessly. Nevertheless, there are several plus points to using mobile apps to pay for goods and services. Firstly, they are extremely convenient. People can complete their purchase from the comfort of their homes within minutes and thus save time and energy. If they had to visit the bank every time they needed to renew their cable TV subscription, for instance, it certainly would be frustrating for many. Secondly, they eliminate the need to carry around debit or credit cards. With identity fraud on the rise, many people are worried about misplacing their cards and falling prey to fraudsters. Therefore, being able to pay via an e-wallet means that shoppers can leave their purse at home when going out. Most of these apps will usually also remind you to pay your bills on time and thus you can avoid late payment charges. They also enable us to track our spending more easily. In conclusion, despite the fact that digital wallets are not supported in many places and may increase spending, they offer convenience and safety. Hence, in my opinion, the benefits outweigh the downsides.