Levels of depression and anti-social behaviour in children have increased dramatically in modern societies. This situation has led many people to infer that childhood itself is in crisis. with the latter statement?

In nuclear families where both the parents are employed, children are often left uncontrolled or uncared for. This leads to psychological depression and anti-social behaviour in them. However, it would probably be too harsh to say that childhood itself is in crisis. To start with, today’s paradigm shift is responsible for juvenile delinquency. For instance, both the parents are busy with their job, which leaves the children free and unattended. This paves way for their headstrong behaviour. Also, in company of their peers they might astray towards derogatory habits like lying or smoking. Eventually they turn out to be unruly and rebellious, proving to be a burden to themselves, the parents and the society. This is definitely a worrying development. On the other hand, this is only half the story. Not all children go towards the wrong way. There are a lot of youngsters who do not let the circumstances get the better of them, eventually shielding themselves from becoming spoiled. This modern society has brought with it many positive aspects like better education, computer and internet facilities, better job prospects and above all, a rise in the economic status. Some youngsters know better, and take advantage of the present situation and its offerings, to mould themselves into being productive and successful citizens. It is true that with life becoming busy, parents are not able to care for children as appropriately as in the earlier times, but stereotyping the new generation, with the blind assumption that they are deteriorating, is baseless and illogical. Summarizing the essay, it can be safe to say that unfortunately, many youngsters do get spoilt, being unable to sensibly handle the lifestyle in the modern society. However, this not being the case with all youth, to think that childhood is degenerating is absurd.