Learning English at the school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Language is most crucial and rudiment innovation ever developed by human species. English is becoming more and more popular nowadays and the need of learning the British language is becoming essential part of our life from advent. In my view, I believe that everyone should learn the native language during the school time but more importantly, we should learn the language which is spoken by the majority of the world, which is: English. Firstly, language taught to us during the school, plays a major role in our life. Emphasis on English language should be given from young age. For instance, in the current situation, every job demands an English language. If you’re not able to communicate fluently in English, you may be not given the priority. Furthermore, all schools have made English as a mandatory subject and this is to ensure that students are able to cope with the real world when they go outside and look for their career path. Having said this, does not necessarily mean that native language should not be given priority at all during the school timing. While I believe that, to be in the ever changing world, English should be at the top most priority for the communication, but the native language plays it’s own roles too. For example, I was born and brought up learning Gujarati and Hindi language and it helps me in a varieties of ways; I can read, write, and represent my inner thoughts through songs and dramas. In addition to that, it also helps me in my artistic career, to write poetry in my native language. We need to make sure that our native language does not fade. We can take several ways to ensure longetivity of our local languages. Making it at a regular in the curriculum is the one way to conquer it. Furthermore, dramas, folk music and cinemas in local language can enhance the awareness about it and these arts lives forever in the heart of people. We need to balance both in an effective manner, to stay connected with the world by learning demanding languages at the same time, we should not give less weightage on our local language. Although I firmly believe, having fluency in English should be given the highest weightage but one should also make sure to preserve one’s local language.