learning a foreign language is an important part of the education

Learning a foreign language from a young age can be beneficial in numerous ways. When humans learn a new language in the earlier years of their life, they will develop a wider range of mental and social abilities. First and foremost, children will be linguistically more competent and skilled when they start the process of learning early. This is due to the fact that the brain’s potential to learn new skills is stronger, therefore learning occurs faster than in adults. Moreover, a young persons’ mind does not focus as much on the structure and syntax of the language and as a result, it is acquired naturally. Apart from linguistic abilities, the social skills of a person who has learned a language at primary school or even pre-school are far more advanced than other people. These individuals are less timid and more prone to interact with strangers and foreigners. As a result, they are more accepting of diversity and different cultures. However, one minor criticism towards this approach is that learning a second language from a young age might prevent the child to fully understand the system of their native language or that it could be confusing when they are learning two languages at the same time. This theory has been later doubted and disproved. Young learners are by far more agile to understand and differentiate between various language systems. A child for example, who is growing up in a bilingual house, will speak to their mother in her native language and respectively to the father in his. To return to the original idea, when skills are acquired from a young age such as foreign languages, humans will be socially and linguistically more qualified. Therefore, Studying a second or third language is crucial to children’s education and should be implemented in the curriculum plan of children at school.