Language requirements for work permit applications

Canadian immigration legislation provides that a visa officer shall not issue a work permit to a foreign national if there are reasonable grounds to believe that the foreign national is unable to perform the work sought. There has recently been a notable increase in Federal Court of Canada judicial reviews of work permit applications that were refused because visa officers did not believe that applicants had the English or French language ability required to work in their occupation in Canada. Usually only a small percent of refused applicants challenge their decisions, and an increase in court cases about a topic is often indicative of a larger trend. A small but growing number of Canadian visa offices in their work permit application checklists have started requiring that applicants include copies of IELTS, CELPIP or TEF language test results in their applications. This will likely further lead to an increase in the importance of applicants demonstrating that they have the English or French language ability to perform their job duties in Canada.