‘Knowledge of historical events does not help us to plan for the future. ’

Historical events are the outline of our life at the present. It is said that understanding history can help individuals to appreciate their origin, and build patriotism, which is extremely necessary. Meanwhile, there is a controversial perspective that tells the perception of historical events will not be helpful for the future. Historical events lasted in the past, so some people might think they are inessential to know about. Albeit a long time ago, I strongly believe that knowing history plays an important role in our future. First of all, history knowledge can help people to know our ancestors, and build up their pride of being a resident in a country. If we do not learn our nation’s history, it will be meaningless to our country’s future as well as impact the young generations. At school, students are always taught about thankfulness and morality. Needless to say, history is a part of that. Knowing history can make people more responsible for their actions toward society and respectful of the attribution of ancestors in the past to save the country. On a further point, some impacts in the past could lead to our decision-making, rights, and freedom these days. In general, countries had experienced hundreds of wars with other states because of the desire to possess more land for natural resources. Similarly, some battles decided whether our country could have more land to limit the authority of using land, where it is near the border, or not. This leads to the fixed size of a nation nowadays, therefore it is vital to know historical data to find ways of protecting our land for future generations. Additionally, history is the fundamental outline for a country’s development. If we acquire sufficient knowledge of history, we can likely identify the country’s relations with other states. This information will be useful for the Diplomatic Ministry to have suitable allying plans, which can benefit residents such as in boosting business, technology, farming, and exportation. Hence, more job opportunities can be created that help to reduce the unemployment rate and also generate greater incomes for the national economy. In conclusion, knowing history is imperative for every single person in the country. Based on the historical events, we can understand better about our origin, country’s diplomatic relations to plan better improvements for the country in a further period.