Junk/Street Food is the most affordable meal for the working class. But health problems due to rampant and uncontrolled consumption are being compounded. It has therefore become imperative for governments to impose a higher tax on them. Give your opinion

While the severity and number of health problems caused by the excessive consumption of unhealthy feed have amplified, I disagree that levying higher tax alone on these affordable foods would push people towards healthier eating. In my essay, I would discuss the impact of such initiative by the government on the consumers and alternative measures that could be more effective. Firstly, imposing an increased tax rate on convenience foods would make them too expensive for average earning people, forcing them to cook meals at home. While this might increase their nutritional intake, it would increase their suffering economically, since, the fresh, nutritious meal is not easily available or pocket friendly. Nowadays, the modern individuals are being comfort in packaged foods, however, increasing in the cost of such foods would not inspire these people to change their lifestyle, rather it would make all types of foodstuff become high-priced, affordable only by the rich. On the other hand, it would be more effective if the government permits healthier alternatives to be more economical and accessible. Therefore, tax free nutritional substances and their mass production to meet the demand might be a massive step towards achieving better health in the community. Similarly, establishment should ensure that canteens in schools, colleges and offices provide cost-effective nutritive diet, so that, relying in alternatives is minimized. To conclude, heavy taxes on junk food will only deter the lower-income groups from buying them. Instead, government should invest more in wholesome school lunches and making healthy products widely available at nominal cost to attack the problem at its root cause.