Japanese invasion of Indonesia

In the early 1940s, World War II was raging and Japan was worried that they wouldn’t have enough fuel for war and industry. Japan was starting to plan on invading Southeast Asia for their natural resources, especially for the fuel they need. The Dutch have colonized Indonesia for 350 years, and are in control over all of Indonesia’s natural resources. On January 11, 1942, the Japanese army with its navy of approximately 20, 000 people landed in East Kalimantan, and they were greeted by the Dutch troops who have already occupied the area. The Dutch did not accept the arrival of the Japanese army, and a fierce battle began. Eventually, the Dutch surrendered to the Japanese on March 8, 1942, which was the end of the Dutch colonization and the beginning of Japanese occupation in Indonesia. Japanese were able to invade Indonesia in such a short period of time because they were moving very fast, and countries such as the United States couldn’t help much in preventing the invasion of Japanese because the US navy have crippled. The Indonesian people also didn’t want the Dutch to win, considering how long they have been colonized by them. At first the Indonesian welcomed the Japanese from freeing them from the Dutch. Little do they know that they were about to be colonized by the Japanese.