It’s true that punishments cannot always deter offenders from breaking laws again.

It’s true that punishments cannot always deter offenders from breaking laws again. There are various factors accounting for this phenomenon, but governments still can take steps to deal with this issue. One possible explanation may be that they are not equipped with enough knowledge and skills for the life outside. Without basic skills, criminals may feel challengeable to find a job to support themselves in a fast-paced society, as well as having normal social contacts. Therefore, reintegrating into society becomes hard especially in countries where discrimination against them is at high level and committing offences again is an easier way to make a living. Besides, a considerable number of crimes are committed by poorly educated people with a weak sense of law. Another reason is that friends met in prison exert adverse influence on them. Prison isolates them from the society, creating an enclosed environment which can breed bad influences among criminals. Several measures can be taken to alleviate the problem. Firstly, more education and specific vocational training should be provided for criminals during a prison term, making them prepared for fierce competition outside. Secondly, government should involve community service as a rehabilitation way, such as cleaning streets and talking to school groups. It makes them useful for local communities, which not only cultivates their awareness of social responsibility but also advances social acceptance towards them. Thirdly, local government should arrange specific persons or groups to help them fit into society again after releasing. Companions who can face difficulties with them hand in hand mey prevent them from criminals acts again. In conclusion, casuses such as insufficient job skills, the lack of legal awareness as well as an isolated bad environment drive law breakers take risks again, while government actions are hopeful to mitigate this issue.