It's important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at a young age. Punishment are considered necessary to teach this difference. What form of punishments can be used?

Nowadays, there is a fine line of distinction between what is right and what is wrong. The complexity of human behavior and the interpretative nature makes it further difficult to recognize this distinction. This is the reason why numerous social science experts claim that it's imperative for parents to teach their children the difference between right and wrong at an early age. These experts consider punishment as a necessary option to achieve the objective. I agree with this notion to a great extent. Right and wrong is subjective and is dependent on the behavior and experiences of a child. As a result, it important for parents to motivate and encourage their children to start supporting what's right from a young age. This kind of encouragement can be provided using 2 types of motives: rewards and punishments. Rewards are considered to be the positive motivators, whereas punishments are considered to be the negative motivators. Rewards are based on excitement, whereas punishments are based on discipline. For example, parents can motivate their child by either promising a reward if the results are commendable, or by giving a punishment if the results are not up to the mark. I believe that punishments are more preferable to teach the difference between right and wrong because they inculcate discipline and influence the conscience of a human being. They make one realize that is the moral responsibility of every human being to support what's right and stand against what's wrong. A great example of this is the law. When someone breaks any law or a regulation, then he or she is either fined or even imprisoned in severe situations. However, one thing which must be considered by parents while following this model is that the punishments must be influential and at the same time, they should not have an adverse impact on a child's thought process. An unrealistic punishment can give birth to hatred which will motivate the child to support the wrong figures. A well thought punishment which provides positive motivation to a child will teach him or her the right behavior and make him or her an exemplary human being, someone who is a great asset to the society.