It would be argued by some that all students entering university should solely study subjects that will be of use for their future. In my opinion, however, it would be more beneficial for them to choose the courses that they have an interest in.

It would be argued by some that all students entering university should solely study subjects that will be of use for their future. In my opinion, however, it would be more beneficial for them to choose the courses that they have an interest in. On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some believe that university students should only study subjects that will be useful after graduation. The first reason is that courses such as science and technology lead to more employment opportunities and higher salaries than subjects like art or history. In Vietnam, for example, a candidate with a degree in information technology would find it easier to get a job than a history major. Another reason is that practical subjects such as medicine, engineering or information technology play an important role in the development of any nation. More students taking these courses means more future scientists and technology engineers who would make great contributions to their country. On the other hand, I would argue that students should have the freedom to choose to study whatever they enjoy. If a person loves what he is studying, he would devote more time and energy to his study, leading to higher academic results. In contrast, if a student is forced to study a useful subject that he is not passionate about, he would drop out of the course due to boredom and stress. My cousin, for instance, quit his bioscience course after three months because he was not interested in it. In conclusion, although some people think that universities should only offer the most useful subjects, I personally believe that students should have the right to study whatever they prefer. (