It seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing student through exams rather than assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

It has become a trend not to evaluate the performance of students through regular assessments in class but, through exams. To assess a child through exams will inculcate the sense of equality and competition but will have drawbacks also. On the one hand, exams provide a fair assessment system which is based on equality and encourages students to keep on striving and doing hard work to be in competition with fellow classmates thus, always keeping them in high spirits to perform in exams. Moreover, at the end of the year performance evaluation is the fair system to promote children to next classes. Furthermore, exams keep children updated with their lessons, as there is a scheduled timetable and syllabus and all instructions already known by the students which, motivates them to do well. Children are also mentally ready for time limited exams to perform well. On the other hand, exams to be used as a form of assessment, puts a continuous pressure of performing with their parents and teachers as a result it induces anxiety and increases stress in children. In addition to this, taking appraisal by exams will not check the actual calibre of the students as they cannot always get satisfactory results due to nervousness and fear of getting lesser scores. Another reason that exam based estimate is not always correct is that different children are of different calibres, some can give best results in this kind of setting others can lose their confidence. Moreover, as the expectations of the parents and teachers are always more this can let them take bad decision sometimes which can be detrimental. In conclusion, to take exams as o for to assess children can be advantageous but, will also increase pressure and stress in students too