It is widely known that despite cars damage the environment, their manufacture and their use continue to increase. Why is it the case? How can this be controlled?

It is generally the case that air contamination is a serious problem which humankind is facing to date. Although people have widely acknowledged the negative effects of automobiles on their living environment, they proceed to make and use them excessively. There are some potential reasons regarding this, and many possible measures can be used to solve the problem. To begin with, plenty of plausible reasons grounds are leading to this situation. One of them is the flexibility of traveling by cars. In other words, this mode of transportation eliminates the hassles of reserving tickets of public transport such as buses and trains. As a result, commuters can go to work, shopping and follow their pursuits at the convenience without depending on fixed schedules or any means of community transport. Another contributing factor is that private automobiles can provide a great sense of pleasure and comfort. To be more specific, people could have favorable touring holidays whenever and wherever they desire with their own vehicles. Especially, a few cars models can be innovative with accommodation and other facilities to better serve people during their traveling. However, some feasible measures could be taken to tackle this significant threat of increased car production and use. The most effective solution can be stricter taxation policies. For example, governments should impose a particular higher tax rate on cars with high emissions while supplying highest-cost benefits to consumers choosing low-emissions car models. Another certain practice could be raising the awareness of using alternative public transportation among citizens. One typical instance is that there should be compulsory educational programs or regular public campaigns aiming at helping people of all ages understand the harms of car overuse and merits of alternative means. By doing this, it is hoped that they would have more environmentally-friendly travel options and behaviors. In conclusion, the flexibility and sense of pleasure are the two main driving forces that contribute to the constant use of automobiles. Nonetheless, this problem could be alleviated by higher taxation actions and public awareness enhancement as described above.