The past few decades have witnessed the trend that numerous students leave their home nation in order to study at foreign universities and colleges. Although overseas students may find it difficult to be accustomed to the new environment in a developed country at first, I strongly believe the benefits of this trend are more significant in the long term.

On the one hand, there are two certain drawbacks associated with studying in a foreign country. First and foremost, school leavers may be affected psychologically. This is due to the fact that students may suffer from homesickness or even depression when studying and living alone in another nation, and also they possibly have to face culture shock and language barriers. As a result, they fail to integrate into the new community. Secondly, students may encounter many problems related to paperwork such as visa permits. It is apparent that in order to obtain a visa from a first-world nation, students are required to meet a series of rigorous standards. As a result, this puts severe pressure on students and may interrupt their studies. On the other hand, despite such shortcomings, I hold a belief that studying abroad will bring more benefits to youngsters later. To elaborate, it creates an opportunity for students to learn new cultures as well as broaden their horizons. This is because they get exposed to various cultures and people who come from other parts of the world, and thus they are able to attain intercultural experience which is essential for working in different cultural settings such as international corporations or multinational companies. Moreover, foreign institutions offer better-designed courses together with state-of-the-art facilities, so that learners can comprehend the lessons effectively and become well-trained. Consequently, with an internationally recognized qualification, their employment opportunities will be increased. In conclusion, school leavers may struggle to adapt to a new environment with various cultures and customs at the beginning. Yet, I strongly believe that studying at foreign institutions has more positive impacts than negative ones.