it is unnecesarry to protect animals because alarge amount of money is spent to conservation of endangered species

It is universally accepted that a host of animals are pushed to the verge of extinction due to the humand’s relentless pursuit of economic development, and therefore, animal conservation is always a topic of public interest. However, it is believed that preserving wildlife is no longer necessary, given colossal money, and time involved, and that these resources should be diverted to projects that immediately benefit humans. I personally disagree with this school of thought for some following reasons. Granted, one might argue that the budget that is being allocated to preservation of animals is verging on excess. This is predicated on the assumption that there are more other pressing issues that need addressing than protecting wildlife animals. A good example for this is countries where unemployment, poverty, and starvation are rife are in dire need of funding to alleviate such problems. Nevertheless, this line of reasoning is not sound, because although hundreds of millions of dollars have been allotted to combating the extinction of some animals, recent centuries have witnessed the demise of innumerable wildlife species. As a result, this is a testament that our efforts in animal conservation do seem woefully inadequate. Furthermore, it is absurd to discount/ downplay the importance of protecting endangered species. This is because there is an inextricable relationship between human race and wildlife. In other words, if a single wild species is missing from the ecosystem, it may disrupt the whole food chain, which is more likely to lead to loss of biodiversity and ecological balance, and ultimately disastrous results for human life. A typical example of this is Pollinating insects which play an integral role in the growth of crops given that the increasing decline in the number of these creatures had understandably / undoubtedly caused widespread damage to agricultural productivity in particular and living standards of human beings. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that there is a dire need for the onservation of threatened animals because it has a direct effect on the existence of human beings.