It is undoubtedly the case that urban areas around the world increasingly suffer from increasing demand for private cars. There are several causes of this problem and various measures that could be taken by the government and individuals to improve the situation.

It is undoubtedly the case that urban areas around the world increasingly suffer from increasing demand for private cars. There are several causes of this problem and various measures that could be taken by the government and individuals to improve the situation. There are a variety of different factors that have led to traffic congestion. One of the major causes can be that there is insufficient infrastructure to deal with the high volume of traffic. This would mean that in construction of the city there are inadequate amounts of pedestrian roads, traffic lights and roads. Growth in the number of personal transport also plays a role in traffic problems. In other words, going beyond the possible numbers could be the second reason for this question. Despite some of the obvious reasons described above, there are several measures that the government could take to tackle this issue. Firstly, a simple solution would be to build overpasses and underpasses to handle a large volume of traffic. In other words, subways and overhead roads should be constructed in areas where they were not built earlier. The second action would be for governments to raise the tax on privately owned vehicles to limit ownership. Also, encouragements in order to exploit bicycles and public transports by diminishing the rentals and values could be useful. This would mean that advertisements and promotion of another type of transport will change the minds of the population. To sum up, despite the obvious reasons described above, various actions can be taken to solve the problem of traffic congestion.