good and bad side of tourism

The development of the state economy depends on many fields such as agriculture, forestry, . . . and the indispensable tourism industry. Today, tourism is considered an indispensable need in cultural and social life and is one of the important economic sectors of many countries. In recent years, we can see very clearly the growth of the travel industry. In many countries tourism contributes a significant part to the total annual income, especially in Vietnam tourism is considered as one of the three important economic sectors that the state focuses on infrastructure investment, constantly developing and making great contributions to the country's economy. It is clear that the development of tourism supports the transportation, financial services, food services and hotel services industries. The tourism industry helps create great job opportunities for laborers, especially female workers. At the same time, tourism is an effective way to promote the culture, customs and habits of Vietnamese people to international friends and offers many opportunities for other forms of transactions. Attracting foreign tourists is one of the important things to do to introduce Vietnam to the world. Not only that, tourism development promotes and creates opportunities for the exchange of cultures between regions in the country, as well as between countries around the world. Besides, tourism also plays an active role in preserving cultural heritages and protecting natural resources in a sustainable way. This is to ensure the sustainable development of tourism in the future. Tourism not only contributes to the growth of service industries, contributes to GDP, creates jobs. . . but also promotes other fields to develop and expand. Specifically, thanks to the constantly increasing number of tourists each year, the hotel and resort service industry is increasingly invested heavily. This is also one of the fastest growing markets, contributing the majority of revenue to the tourism industry. The areas that have potential to be a travel space will be invested to develop. On the opposite side, the tourism industry has a number of negative effects. The first effect can be mentioned is environmental destruction. The large number of tourists can cause noise pollution, water pollution, air pollution, …all of which has seriously affected the health and life of local people. Not only that, travel has two harmful effects: destruction of the natural landscape and increase in social evils. In addition, flora and fauna can be reduced or destroyed in tourist areas due to direct or indirect human impact. Tourism development means a lot of land is needed. This is the most direct damage to crops by human tourism activities. For example, the construction of hotels, car parks or other tourist facilities lead to vegetation removal to meet project requirements. Also, for many countries, tourism is a seasonal occurrence. For people that work in the tourism industry, their jobs are only viable for a certain number of months, and after the season has ended, many are left without income. After all, the tourism industry has both benefits and harms but it still holds an important key for every country. We should continue to consolidate and promote the positive things and concede the bad sides to overcome the hole of the tourism industry. During the covid 19 pandemic, the tourism industry has suffered huge losses, causing the economy to be affected as well. From which we can clearly see the tremendous impact of the tourism industry on the economy.