It is true that the protection of the environment is a major topic of concern. Although, I accept that raising the price of gasoline could help this situation, I do not agree that this solution is the only measure that the government should take.

It is true that the protection of the environment is a major topic of concern. Although, I accept that raising the price of gasoline could help this situation, I do not agree that this solution is the only measure that the government should take. From my perspective, on the one hand, an increase in fuel costs would be just one possible way to tackle the problem related to environmental protection. Firstly, an increasing number of means of transport and the development of industrial fields have resulted in a significant growth in the consumption of petrol and gasoline. This releases a great amount of exhaust fumes into the atmosphere, causing the environment to be seriously polluted. Therefore, increasing the cost of fuel would have a contribution to reducing a huge number of automobiles and industrial activities, lowering a significant amount of hazardous exhaust fumes released into the environment. As a result, environmental quality would drastically improve and pollution in the environment would be tackled. However, I believe that the government should do more than simply increase the cost of petrol. It might be more effective if governments put education, rather than raising the cost of gasoline, at the center of campaigns to raise people’s awareness about the harmful effects of using petroleum vehicles and encourage residents to travel by eco-friendly transport, such as electric cars and subway, or even in the case of short-distance travel, walking or using a bicycle. Another remedy is that government should analysis and develop energy industrial fields and encourage citizens utilize alternative source of energy such as solar and wind power so that they can reduce their dependence on traditional energy resources. For example, India has employed its advances technology to build up photovoltaic solar power which harnesses the sun’s energy to produce electricity without causing any damage to the environment. In conclusion, perhaps an increase in fuel costs is effective, but this would certainly not be the only way to deal with the problems of environmental protection.