effects of sleep deprivation

Nowadays, many people are not getting enough sleep, though it is a biological need, without which human life will be seriously affected. people are willing to skip sleep because of the 24/7 culture where all the information, services are available round the clock, and the harsh competition in the business world in which employees have to sacrifice their sleep to please their boss. Sleep deprivation can affect on performance, stay awake 24hours or sleep 5 hours a night for a week likely blood- alcohol level of 0. 1 per cent, moreover sleeping an average of five hours a night working, studying, driving, and making decisions as though intoxicated. Sleep deprivation can lead to poor grades, poor performance at work, and dangerous effects for example in Feb 2009, a commuter plane crashed on the way from Newark to Buffalo, killing 50 people or 20% of car accidents. Sleep deprivation can lead to a serious problem for the medical profession such as working 30 hour-long shifts twice a week causing performance and treatment of patients. 20% of residents acknowledge making fatigue that leads to injury of a patient, 5% residents lack of sleep cause patient’s death