It is true that science can explain the nature of many phenomena happening around us, ranging from the impact of alcohol on our health to the response of our brain to pain and even the formation of clouds. However, other aspects of human life including human feelings are better illustrated in the form of arts.

It is true that science can explain the nature of many phenomena happening around us, ranging from the impact of alcohol on our health to the response of our brain to pain and even the formation of clouds. However, other aspects of human life including human feelings are better illustrated in the form of arts. Firstly, human feelings still leave scientists a large number of questions to be answered. For example, the response of our body and brain to nervousness and excitedness is exactly the same. This can be seen in the way our armpits and palms begin to sweat, how our heart starts to beat faster, and how adrenaline is produced in a certain region in our brain when we feel nervous or excited. Thus, even the most advanced medical technologies such as an MRI scanner, which could detail how our brain respond to external and internal cues, will show the same results for those two feelings, thus failing to tell what a person is viscerally going through. A song, on the other hand, could deliver the unique feelings of the composer to the extent that there are now over 2 billion songs written about love, but they tell very different stories and shades of feelings. Similarly, psychoanalysts, philosophers, and scientists alike are still struggling to provide possible answers to metaphysical questions like what constitutes happiness. In scientific terms, there are certainly some preconditions to happiness, for example, in the form of personal achievement, material possessions and relationship. However, there are highly respected people who have risen to the position of power, possessed an imaginable amount of wealth and had a good marriage life, but still feel miserable to the point of suicide. This, scientifically, does not make much sense, but many writers, composers or painters have successfully portrayed such people’s misery by means of poem, song or painting. This can be seen in how Billy Eillish described her loneliness underneath her glamour and success in her song When the party is Over. In conclusion, even the most erudite scientists are still baffled by the questions pertaining to human feelings, which could be reasonably depicted in many different forms of arts.