It is true that people in various parts of the world are spending an increasing amount of time at work. The purpose of this essay is to analyze some of the main reasons for this phenomenon, and then explain why this should be considered as progress.

It is true that people in various parts of the world are spending an increasing amount of time at work. The purpose of this essay is to analyze some of the main reasons for this phenomenon, and then explain why this should be considered as progress. Longer hours are being spent in the workplace due to a combination of factors. The main reason is that since the job market has become increasingly competitive, employees have to spend more hours to compete with others. In fact, people in Vietnam, particularly young graduates, are willing to work overtime to horn their skills; therefore, preventing them from becoming redundant. Another compelling reason is that as people place greater emphasis on their career achievement, they spend an ever-increasing amount of time working to reach their goals. No matter how many hours they spend, they just work hard towards their targets to gain success. The trend towards using more time in companies is a very welcome development. At an individual level, working parents have a chance to earn more money; hence, laying foundations for their children’s future. This because they can take advantage of their savings to pay for better schools and services to ensure their children’s well-rounded development. From a societal perspective, a hard-working workforce is the determining factor for a thriving economy. Take Japan as a typical example, this country is famous for hard-working people working late in the evening on a daily basis, and this has lead to one of the biggest economies in the world. In conclusion, the competition and greater focus on results are to blame for more and more time spent at work, and I believe that its is a worthwhile development thanks to a wide range of benefits for only individuals but also the community.