It is true that international sporting events have become more and more popular in recent decades. While one school of thought holds this tendency is fraught with pitfalls, I am convinced that it will be of paramount importance to our communities.

On the one hand, it is unbeneficial for most countries to host international sports events based on two main reasons that come from the increase in crime rate and an exhausting preparation process. Firstly, it is a great chance for robbers and criminals to take illegal actions when countries organize international sports events because of lacking strict security and the audience’s guard. Secondly, the process of preparing for those events demands numerous workers and a huge amount of money. For example, the World Cup 2014 took Brazil five years to revitalize the cities and construct various facilities including stadiums and indoor athletics arenas to meet the world-class standard set by FIFA. On the other hand, there is a compelling reason why I am convinced that hosting international sports events can stimulate a country's tourism. By organizing this event, a country is able to attract a large number of tourists. When numerous foreign visitors attend these sports events, the host country is likely to proliferate the sales of products and public services such as accommodations and transportations. For instance, after hosting Sea Games in 2003, Vietnam has attracted a lot of tourists and was recognised as “Kitchen of the World”, which helped push up Vietnam’s position on a global stage. In conclusion, although there are many disadvantages for numerous countries to hosting international sports events, I believe that the benefits of this tendency can have promoted cultural value of the country, and increased the position.