It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings. This money should be spent on building modern ones instead. with this opinion? Give your own reasons and examples.

It is always difficult to choose whether we should maintain and repair old buildings or put the effort to build new ones. Some people would build new structures to save money by not paying for the maintenance and others tend to repair old buildings. I personally think that we should look after the old buildings. I will support my idea in the next paragraphs. First of all, Old buildings and houses are the cultural and historical components of every city. Even buildings that do not have an important history behind them, have already become parts of a neighborhood. Buildings are part of a bigger picture, which is (i. e) the whole city. Ruining old buildings could damage the integrity of that picture since it is common that people replace old buildings with much higher and more modern structures. New buildings surrounded by old ones usually create a very ugly image and also demolish the historical homogeneity of that part of the city. In my opinion, it is important to preserve the character of a city by looking after the old elements. Based on my personal experience, I remember the time when I was a child, the inner part of my own town was a historical site with old and significantly beautiful buildings. After a few years, the municipality decided to allow people to ruin their houses and stores in order to build new ones. This decision converted a beautiful homogenous neighborhood into a place full of culturally irrelevant buildings. The neighborhood was neither a historical site anymore nor so beautiful as it was before. Secondly, some people would say, the maintenance of old buildings is a costly decision and it is not worth it. I believe this is wrong since constructing new buildings has many other costs other than financial ones. Building new structures needs lots of materials which usually are harmful to the environment, whether new buildings are constructed with wood or with concrete, etc. Using new materials means using many irreversible environmental resources. In addition to that, new structures are commonly much higher due to commercial reasons or for the sake of providing more space for future residents. Constructing high buildings requires digging further into the ground for foundations and providing enough parking space. This could lead to a drought in surrounding green areas. Therefore, replacing old buildings with new ones isn’t always cheaper, considering the costs for the environment. In conclusion, ruining the old structures not only harms the beauty of the cultural and historical image of a city but also might cause many environmental problems. Thus, I believe it is a better choice to maintain old buildings instead of destroying them.