In many countries, paying for things using mobile phones (cellphones) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages.

Payment through apps in cell phones is on the rise and has become mundane across the globe. While few believe that this development has its share of advantages, I however believe, that security concerns and other factors makes it more disadvantageous. On one hand, having apps that can access or money could be useful. It could eliminate few things a person may carry generally. For example, a person need not carry his wallet and credit/debit cards, if he has apps to access his bank or money. Moreover, it is extremely convenient and easily accessible as people carry their mobile everywhere. On the other hand, Although apps having access to payment have few advantages, the security issues involving it is a huge factor to be taken into consideration. A few studies suggested that one of the reason in increasing online frauds is the use of online payments through apps in the mobile. Recently, a report was all over the news and internet, where many individuals were hacked into their bank accounts due to apps in their mobile. Additionally, many people argue and have a theory of virtual money being not real money and can vanish anytime. They believe that hard cash is more safe and reliable. Therefore, I believe, the negative side of this trend outweighs its positive aspects. In conclusion, although popularity of using mobile apps as a mode of payment is increasing among people for its convenience and accessibility, I believe that its disadvantages cannot be ignored and they outweigh its advantages.