It is thought that some people are born with talents while others are not. Some others believe that any child can be taught anything and become an expert in that area.

It is often argued that natural aptitude is the key factorto become an expert while other people believe that learning and practicing a skill isthe key factor. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue infavour of the latter. To begin with, natural ability is an advantage to perform betterin certain areas. Generally, gifted people can pick up the skills quicker and easier. They have more time to explore a higher level. Albert Einstein is an example offamous gifted people. He was a physicist in the 20th century and made importantcontributions. It is hard to find a person that can compare with him afterhe died. It proves that talent is important for people to become an expert. Nevertheless, critics argue that if children learn and practicethe skills when they are young, they also have the opportunity to become anexpert. It is applicable to sports. Normally, athletes have at least ten years trainingbefore they have the qualification to join the Olympic game. For example, Liu Xiangis a Chinese former 110-meter hurdler. He is the first Chinese to obtain the WorldChampion. In the past, African won most of hurdling competition because of genes. However, Liu Xiang overcame the physical difference and won the World Champion. It indicates that practice is a crucial factor. In my opinion, I believe that ‘practice makes perfect’ in most of thefields. Without a doubt, natural ability is an advantage at the beginning as learningtime is shortened. However, if talented people do not keep working on the field. Theywill probably leave behind. Therefore, everyone has an opportunity to become proficient. To sum up, although people have different views, I agree that practice isthe key factor to become an expert.