It is the responsibility of individuals to save and provide for their own retirement. Government have no obligation to provide this benefit.

Most of the people the age over 65 are not able to work and they only depend on their retirement funds whether it is provided by the Government or they have self-invested it. From my perspective, an individual must plan for his/her retirement himself/herself rather than relying on anybody. however, the government should help the individuals with it. On the one hand, people must set aside and invest money throughout their lifetime. In fact, there are numerous policies and fund schemes available for people to plan their retirement. These schemes require individuals to pay a small amount of money in instalments every month or year which depends on the type of policy. Moreover, these policies have some insurances included in them and people can avail these benefits when it is required. In addition, some government policies have tax rebates on them which is a good option for investment too. For instance, in India, the government post office has a policy in which an individual has to pay Rs. 1000 monthly for twenty years and after the age of sixty they will pay the same money to the individual as pension throughout their life. Therefore, people can adopt these kinds of schemes and plan for their retirement easily. Besides that, local authorities have to manage development works in many other areas such as the construction of roads, better education and health facilities and so on. Apart from that government has the main source of revenue is tax. However, the government is helping a lot by providing facilities to people at very low prices. So, if they start providing pensions to people then there will be no funds for the government to run. On the other hand, some individuals have very small or no income and they pay a very little amount of tax or no tax. In such scenarios, these people won't survive when they cross their age limit to work and they can only seek help from the government. Government must have the responsibility to do something earlier so that there will be no such cases. Besides this, people who pay taxes and social charges during their whole working lives. they also aspect something from the government in return when they retire because they have already paid a lot to the governemnt. To sum up, the government should help people with their retirement plans. However, if individuals are not able to plan it then the government should provide monetary help in the form of pension to people.