It is suggested that female athletes should be paid as much as male athletes of the same sport.

Since time immemorial, the discrepancy between pay of men and women in the sport industry is here to stay, leading to the crying out for pay rise for female athletes. From my perspective, I totally agree with the idea of striking a balance between pay for both genders in sporting for the following reasons. In the first place, the sports women deserve better wages for all of their efforts over such a long time. It seems that the career of women in sport is not potential and wide open as men but filled with discrimination, challenges and difficulties for most of the time. They are turned against and have to encounter lots of things, from social acceptance, outdated prejudices to the stereotype about their physical condition. However, despite not being supported and lacking in access to training infrastructure, the women always try their best to prove themselves capable of playing sports as well as their male counterparts. Therefore, equal pay is a recognition for their determination and dedication to the industry. In the second place, raising women’s pay in sports proves to generate financial benefits in the foreseeable future. When given equal wages, female athletes have the motivation to dedicate more and practise harder, which makes their performances more lively and entertaining. Besides, more fans, especially the females, are attracted to that kind of sports, resulting in the higher viewing time for the media and higher revenues for the organisations or the competitions. Additionally, feeling challenged because of receiving equal pay as women, the male athletes tend to focus more on their jobs and performances, contributing to greater profits for the industry. To sum up, equal pay is not only beneficial towards women but also contributes to the revenue of the sports industry in the long run.