It is said that the best way to solve the world's environmental problems is to increase the price of fuel for cars and other vehicles.

Environmental problems have long been a pain point globally. Many believe that boosting fuel prices for transportation will solve the world’s environmental issues. In my opinion, protecting the environment requires synchronized actions from governments to companies and citizens, and solely increasing fuel prices does not create much positive change for environmental well-being. On the one hand, increasing fuel prices for cars causes damages for the vehicle consumers and automotive industry, while the environmental benefits are vague and unpredictable. From a car owners’ standpoint, raising fuel prices only forces them to spend less on other expenses because they have to use their vehicles to travel and accept the fuel price hike. Therefore, there is little solid proof that shows decreased trends in the use of cars and other transportations, so it is difficult to evaluate the environmental benefits from increasing fuel prices. With the automotive industry, increasing fuel prices for cars would reduce car sales, slowing down the development and innovation of this field for better and greener vehicles. For example, during the Covid-19 pandemic in Vietnam, the fuel prices for motor vehicles rocketed; however, people still their current transportations and produce air pollution as usual. Therefore, increasing fuel price for cars is not a practical solution to environmental problems. On the other hand, some assert that raising the fuel price for means of transportation is the ultimate solution to deal with the world’s environmental problems. It is reasonable to claim that because the higher the fuel prices for vehicles, the fewer potential buyers. However, increasing fuel prices for vehicles does not mean that people will limit car usage but rather put more burden on their expenses. Indeed, driving fuel vehicles has been a demand that is hard to change and replace for people globally in the short term, and it is unrealistic to get rid of it quickly or by implementing some individual policies like increasing fuel prices for cars. Alternatively, a more reasonable and feasible solution in changing consumers’ behaviors is by providing more affordable means of transportation which use clean energy or renewable energy resources. For example, Telsa - one of the biggest corporations in the world, has invested and developed electric cars, along with building electric charging stations, which created positive changes in consumer behaviors as well as the automotive industry, and improved environmental wellness. In conclusion, to protect the environment and maintain a fresh and green habitat, people need to come up with effective solutions that require coordination from all related objects instead of only focusing on fuel prices.