It is said that people is destroying environment but do nothing to save it

There is a saying said by Terry Swearingen, Winner of Goldman Environmental Prize in 1997 “We are living in this planet as if we had another one to go to. ” This quote simply means that people are destroying the environment with no intention of preserving it. However, I partly agree with this point of view and I will support it with some reasons. It goes without saying that people are responsible for exerting negative impacts on the environment. That human have undoubtedly over-exploited the environment for economic purposes has led to environmental degradation. For instance, the over-exploitation of sand has caused soil erosions in some Southern regions in Viet Nam. Moreover, people’ s irresponsible disposal of industrial waste is one of the foremost factors of the natural destruction. Every single day, the harmful smoke and industrial waste from the factories have been discharged into the environment without going through waste treatment process. Even though people are continuously doing some environmental- threatening activities, some of them also commit to sustainable development. Firstly, the number of big firms have planned a campaign to save the environment. As an example, Adidas and Nike, the two largest shoes brands, have run a project of manufacturing shoes from plastic wastes. Secondly, there are innumerable organisations are working on environmental project to raise people’ consciousnes on protecting the environment. To recapitulate, in some respects, the saying is true that we have been causing deterioration to the environment. However, I myself believe that we are changing the way we treat the environment.