It is said that air pollution is the biggest threat to the environment in developing countries. State the causes of this and suggest some possible solutions.

It is believed that air congestion is the most serious threat to the environment in underdeveloped nations. The main causes of this are cars that run on petrol and thermal power plants. The most viable solution are electric cars and air filters. Cars that use petrol as their fuel are one of the biggest air pollutants. That is because car motors mix petrol with air in order to start the vehicle, and as a result car's exhaust system releases toxic fumes in the air. Another threat to the environment are thermal power plants. This is because these plants use coal in order to generate electricity, and huge amounts of CO2 are released in the air. For example, cities in Bosnia and Herzegovina where coal power plants exist, such as Kakanj and Tuzla, are far more congested than other cities that get their electricity via hydroelectric power plants. One possible solution is to use electric cars. This is because these vehicles are environmentally friendly and do not release hazardous gases in the atmosphere. Another solution for cities where thermal power plants are installed are air filters. This is because air filters are going to stop particles that have an adverse effect on air quality from going up in the air. For instance, in 2017 an Albanian power plant that runs on coal installed 3 air filters and since then air quality has increased substantially. In conclusion, the main causes or air congestion are vehicles that run on petrol and thermal power plants, and the best way to ameliorate air quality is to use electric cars and air filters in coal power plants.