It Is Often Thought That The Increase In Juvenile Crime Is A Direct Influence Of The Increase In Violence In Media

Incidences of crime have increased enormously across the countries in recent years and juvenile crimes are no exception to it. Glorification of violence in media has a direct impact on young people and will continue to instigate them to commit crimes, unless strong laws are enacted to censor media content. I strongly agree with the argument that violence in media has a commanding influence on teenagers, and in this essay, I will defend my stand with valid arguments. Crime movies and TV shows often have a detrimental effect on the society. When teens watch crime shows, they are exposed to violence and may also get deluded by it. For instance, a bank in Trichy was robbed by a group of teenagers after being influenced by a popular TV show called Money Heist. A simple act of heroism can impress teenagers, and when movies showcase the violence positively, that will become a catalyst for juvenile crimes. In addition to movies, social media is equally responsible for the rise in juvenile crimes. Facebook has become a platform to not only showcase violence but also get likes for it. To illustrate, a terrorist shot and killed many people at a church in New Zealand, and streamed it live on Facebook. Many youngsters watched the stream, commented on it, until the platform deleted the stream. This mere incident is an excellent example of how social media plays a crucial role in instigating / promoting juvenile crimes. In conclusion, youths are strongly influenced by violence shown / streamed in the media. When teenagers get exposed to such acts repeatedly, they will show a greater tendency to commit similar acts. Media houses and regulatory boards should take the right steps for the betterment of our society by ensuring that there is less violence in the media.