It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violencein the media. Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

Some people think that the surge in adolescent crime could be credited to media. I agree that it is primarily happening due to the depiction of violent incidents on the media, and parental control is a viable solution to curb this issue. The most predominant cause of the increase in juvenile crime is the content presented through the media. Media, through its different platforms, is creating so much influence, especially in instilling violent thoughts in these young minds and desensitising, which in turn have led to juvenile delinquent behavior. Exposure to media violence also increases a child’s desire to see more violent activities in real life, influencing them to view it as an acceptable way to handle conflicts. For]instance, Pablo, a teenager in Colombia, who shot a police officer, was reportedly provoked by the violence depicted in the web series “Mind Games”. Seemingly, the media diverts the mindset of young people towards criminal activities. The most practical solution to this problem is proper parental guidelines for children. Parents must supervise what their loved ones are exposed to on different media sources and make sure that they put considerable efforts to avoid juvenile delinquency. For example, in 2017, most of the parents in Nevada had set up parental control applications on all media sources so that their children cannot access inappropriate content. Ultimately, the crime rate among youngsters there, reduced to 0. 5 % in 2019. In conclusion, although the mass media is provoking youngsters to adopt juvenile delinquent behavior, it could be controlled through effective parental supervision.