The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

The percentage of obese children in Western has grown in the last decade, it is a colossal problem. This essay will examine the causes of this problem and propose some measures to tackle it. The reasons behind this unsatisfying situation are varied. First, obesity in young children can be caused from overeating fast food. In the present days, when everyone has a busy schedule to keep up with, family meals usually contain/include a tremendous amount/a considerable amount/a great quantity of buttery or greasy takeout dishes for convenience. Those dishes provide a tremendous amount of calories and much fewer nutrition values compared to homecooked meals. Secondly, the advance in modern technology makes young generation too invested in television and video games. In return, they become lazy and have no time to do outdoor activities or play sports that could boost their physics. There are several measures to tackle this particular problem. To begin with, family needs to be more aware of their children’s health and upgrade the standard of their daily meals. Fast food takeout should be replaced with healthier choices of vegetables, meat and fruit. In addition to that, youngsters should be encouraged to work out every day by not only their parents, but also their teachers. Family and school should take part in outdoor activities and sports, which can make a significant contribution to not only the child’s fitness, but also his social skills. An overweight child is often bound to face difficulties, like being laughed at and isolated by their peers, causing insecurity in appearance. In conclusion, the number of obese children nowadays are rising uncontrollably. This problem, however, can be taken care of with proper solutions, such as helps and encouragements from family and the society.