It is often said that retirement is the happiest time of a person’s life. How far do you agree with this view?

It is often argued that the most exciting period of life is the retirement period. I completely disagree with this opinion as it seems retirement period is not the most satisfying time of life. Supporters of this argument may claim that since there are no job responsibilities, the retired persons can explore life solely for personal interests. However, they fail to realise that this time can be super- challenging. This is because the retired population face advancement in age, then their total health seem to decline. As a result, it affects their physical and mental functions. Examples can be seen in Alzheimer’s disease, a brain degenerative disease which solely affects the elderly causing a progressive mental deterioration. Furthermore, there is the issue of finance l. They end up not getting a regular monthly income. Due to this, they might not be able to afford various expenditures such as food, hospital bills and recreational activities. Also, they may contend with the issue of loneliness. This is because they live separately from there adult children and other family members To recapitulate, although some people may agree with the notion, I opine that retirement can be a very challenging period presenting with problems such as deteriorating health conditions, financial matters and isolation issues.