It is often cited that “Not everything that is learned is contained in books”. According to many, we learn most of the things from our own experience while others believe that books are our main source of knowledge. Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

In everyone’s life knowledge is the key to grow. To work, to earn and even to live a balanced life it is mandatory to have knowledge of the fields at least in which we belong. In the following essay we will examine both knowledge gained from books and from the experiences before we reach to a conclusion. Books are considered as one of the biggest sources to gain knowledge on any particular topic. Whether it is about cooking, experimenting or calculating; the language and the graphical presentations help us to understand and adopt things easily. In fact, it is also said that ‘The more you read, the more you gain’. One can understand and follow the process written in the books at almost every stage of his life. For example, when a user manual is given with any electronic gadgets, we can easily learn to operate them. On the other end, there are few things which we can not learn until and unless we practically experience it. It is said ‘‘One should not jump for swimming directly by just reading ‘How to swim? ’’ One also can not get success in his business by just following tactics given in the management books. We have to have field experience, depth of market potential, product knowledge which can only be received by experiences. For example, if the students have exposure to get internships in the industries or respective organizations, they will be able to know things more easily than they could have read in the books. To conclude there could be few advantages of knowledge received from the books but considering the magnitude of the knowledge received from the experiences has more positive impact comparatively and will always be.