It is often argued that university students ought to study whatever they like but some people opine that education systems should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future

It is often argued that university students ought to study whatever they like but some people opine that education systems should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as science and technology related subjects. I am partially agreeing with this decision, in following paragraphs I would discuss my viewpoints with supporting examples. We cannot deny that the role of science and technology are increased day by day, if students who pursue their study related to these topics then success ratio of these students will be increased and they are able secure their job in these fields quickly. For example, according to one of the survey report of Times of India, there are 50% more chances to find the job in science and technology sector as compared to other sectors. However, we cannot ignore the other subjects such as history or language, because by studying these subjects we are able to know about our traditions, cultures and sacrifices done by our ancestors to save our country or society, if we completely ignore or ban these subjects then in upcoming 4 or 5 decades, people forget their traditions and cultures. In addition, if students have not freedom to choose their own interest of subjects then these students cannot perform very well even those subjects are in high demands. For instance, according to students wellbeing organization, approximately 15% students are failed in exams because they do not have interest in their subjects. To conclude, nowadays science and technology have great job opportunities and these are vital for our future but we cannot neglect the other subjects, these subject also play crucial role in our societies.