It is more important to allocate money for immediate, existing social problems than to spend it on long-term research that might help future generations.

If history has taught us anything it is that humans never run out of problems. The human race has evolved facing numerous problems and successfully solving them. The prompt suggests that immediate social problems, which are currently present should be given more emphasis and provided more resources in compared to long-term research that might help future generations. In my opinion, I agree with this. Existing social problems should be given more priority over long-term research. To begin, some people may argue that it is more important to take into account the well-being of future generations as it makes sure human beings are continuously advancing. For example, In the recent pandemic, we were able to come up with a vaccine in a very short amount of time due to all research done in the past. Such feat would not have been possible without long-term research in the past, but if the existing social problems are not resolved first, we do not have to wait for a pandemic to deteriorate human lives. Creating a good present leads to a good future. Social problems like discrimination which includes racism, castism, and gender inequality create a sense of fear and inequality among the people. If these problems are not resolved or kept in check, they will continue to grow, which will ultimately lead to the downfall of society. For example, in south Asian countries like Nepal and India, castism has bread hate among people. There are cases where if a boy and girl got married who belong to different ethnic groups, they are shunned from their society and may even encounter physical violence. Discrimination exists in many forms in society and if such problems continue to exist, we cannot hope for a better future. Furthermore, poverty, a major social issue takes more than 1 million lives each year. The gap between the very poor and the rich has been ever increasing. Malnutrition, famine, and unavailability of medical resources in the time of illness have made the lives of poor people miserable. The issue became even more apparent because of the recent pandemic, where many daily workers had a hard time surviving given that almost all work was suspended. More resources should be allocated to handle these problems as if they are not fixed they will continue to increase in the future. Therefore, although long-term research is benefitial, the existing problems need to be given more emphasis as they are causing more harm to society and will continue to do so if immediate actions are not taken. In my opinion, the benefits of assigning more money to resolve social problems far outweigh the benefits of research that might be helpful in the future.